Venue

Museum of Pop Culture
325 5th Avenue North, Lower Queen Anne, Seattle

  • Hip hop photography

They say a picture’s worth 1,000 words, and that’s especially true of one of music’s most language-conscious genres: hip-hop. Contact High explores four decades of photography, from the late 1970s to today, documenting a revolution not just in music, but in politics, race relations, fashion, and culture. Through more than 170 iconic images of hip-hop's most influential artists (Missy Elliott, Jay-Z, Queen Latifah, Tupac, and more) — including contact sheets that give us a rare glimpse into the creative process of a photo session — Contact High examines the evolution of hip-hop, connecting us with the experiences, identities, and places that have shaped the world’s most popular music genre.

Upcoming Dates

  • Tue, Sep 27, 2022 10:00am
  • Wed, Sep 28, 2022 10:00am
  • Thu, Sep 29, 2022 10:00am
  • Fri, Sep 30, 2022 10:00am
  • Sat, Oct 1, 2022 10:00am
  • Sun, Oct 2, 2022 10:00am
  • Mon, Oct 3, 2022 10:00am
  • Tue, Oct 4, 2022 10:00am
  • Wed, Oct 5, 2022 10:00am
  • Thu, Oct 6, 2022 10:00am
  • Fri, Oct 7, 2022 10:00am
  • Sat, Oct 8, 2022 10:00am
  • Sun, Oct 9, 2022 10:00am
  • Mon, Oct 10, 2022 10:00am
  • Tue, Oct 11, 2022 10:00am
  • Wed, Oct 12, 2022 10:00am
  • Thu, Oct 13, 2022 10:00am
  • Fri, Oct 14, 2022 10:00am
  • Sat, Oct 15, 2022 10:00am
  • Sun, Oct 16, 2022 10:00am
  • Mon, Oct 17, 2022 10:00am
  • Tue, Oct 18, 2022 10:00am
  • Wed, Oct 19, 2022 10:00am
  • Thu, Oct 20, 2022 10:00am
  • Fri, Oct 21, 2022 10:00am
  • Sat, Oct 22, 2022 10:00am
  • Sun, Oct 23, 2022 10:00am
  • Mon, Oct 24, 2022 10:00am
  • Tue, Oct 25, 2022 10:00am
  • Wed, Oct 26, 2022 10:00am
Login
Sign Up

Login

Create an account | Reset your password