Venue

Henry Art Gallery
Northeast Seattle, Seattle

  • Screen Shot 2022 09 12 at 4 06 43 PM

Bolivian-American artist Donna Huanca (b. 1980, Chicago, IL) creates work that destabilizes the male gaze while exploring femme and indigenous narratives and mark-making. Huanca’s installations encompass painting, sculpture, and live performance, and are characteristically created for, and integrated with, the specific architectural spaces in which they are presented. Her art is deeply invested in ritual practice as a means for transcendence, meditation, and transformation.

For her commissioned exhibition at the Henry, the artist has created an architecturally immersive environment, consisting of a vast stage of interlocking ovoid/cellular forms, landscaped with white sand and supporting six mirrored “screen” sculptures, along with a selection of other sculptural work. Four mural-sized paintings surround the stage, each representing one of the four seasons. As viewers journey through the space, they are invited to experience a kaleidoscopic engagement with their own reflection and the works, as well as sound and olfactory pieces. A complete sensory experience, the installation aims to evoke a slippage of space and time inviting participants to both find and lose themselves. Throughout the length of the exhibition, the Henry, the artist, and cultural performers of all genres will work together to produce a series of programs in dialogue with the exhibition’s themes.Huanca’s exhibition is the first commissioned work supported by the Richard E. and Jane Lang Davis New Works Fund. A complimentary publication will accompany the exhibition.

Upcoming Dates

  • Thu, Sep 29, 2022 All Day
  • Fri, Sep 30, 2022 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 1, 2022 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 2, 2022 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 6, 2022 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 7, 2022 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 8, 2022 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 9, 2022 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 13, 2022 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 14, 2022 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 15, 2022 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 16, 2022 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 20, 2022 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 21, 2022 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 22, 2022 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 23, 2022 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 27, 2022 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 28, 2022 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 29, 2022 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 30, 2022 All Day
  • Thu, Nov 3, 2022 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 4, 2022 All Day
  • Sat, Nov 5, 2022 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 6, 2022 All Day
  • Thu, Nov 10, 2022 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 11, 2022 All Day
  • Sat, Nov 12, 2022 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 13, 2022 All Day
  • Thu, Nov 17, 2022 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 18, 2022 All Day
Login
Sign Up

Login

Create an account | Reset your password