Venue

Bellevue Arts Museum
510 Bellevue Way Northeast, West Bellevue, Bellevue

  • Bam image 1

**See here for

Below you will find information for exhibits at Bellevue Arts Museum. Click here for the most up to date exhibition information.

America’s Monsters, Superheroes, and Villains: An exhibition by SuperMonster市City!

September 04, 2020 - January 17, 2021

In different guises, monsters, superheroes, and villains have always been part of America’s cultural fabric. They scare us, thrill us, and most importantly, help guide us through the most terrifying and exhilarating moments of our lives. America’s Monsters, Superheroes, and Villains uses popular portrayals of these characters as a lens to explore America’s changing values during the politically turbulent period of the 1960s to the 1990s.

The exhibition collects figures of playtime icons ranging from well-known DC and Marvel comic book characters to Ed “Big Daddy” Roth’s anti-hero, Rat Fink, to Hollywood monsters of the 1960s. These toys are presented alongside their original packaging, posters, and other advertising materials that give further insight into their historical contexts and the evolution of toy design.

Organized around five themes—Unintended Consequences; Truth, Justice, and the American Way; Innocent Monsters; With Great Responsibility Comes Great Power; and Myths and Legends—the exhibition sheds light on the heroes, creatures, and villains that have captured the American imagination and the sociopolitical issues they reflect.

The exhibition also features a history of ‘Do-It-Yourself’ toys, a discussion of the evolution of materials and manufacturing, and a survey of censorship in American comic books.

American Monsters, Superheroes, and Villains is part of a traveling exhibition organized and curated by SuperMonster市City. Items featured in the exhibition were curated from David Barnhill’s collection of over 200,000 vintage toys and memorabilia.

Anna Mlasowsky: Never Odd or Even

Sep. 11, 2020 - Jan. 17, 2021

Never Odd or Even is an exhibition of recent works from Seattle-based glass artist Anna Mlasowsky. In 2018, Mlasowsky received the John and Joyce Price Award of Excellence for her work in BAM Biennial 2018: BAM! Glasstastic. Beyond the honor of being selected from among 49 artists of immense caliber, the award included a cash prize and the opportunity to present an exhibition at Bellevue Arts Museum within the following two years.

Mlasowsky’s biennial piece, Chorus of One, was presented as both a sculpture and wearable cloak, to be viewed in its worn form either as part of an activated live performance or as recorded choreography through the medium of video. Building off of this same concept, Anna Mlasowsky’s exhibition expands on the collaboration between still objects and moving bodies. The exhibition’s title, Never Odd or Even, a palindrome, speaks to various themes, ranging from the longing for the hermaphroditic, the neutral and circular, the intangible presence of reoccurring cycles, to the ocean currents and the female cycle.

This collaborative effort connects the disciplines of performing arts and sculpture, staging the objects in the exhibition on both the spatial and performative planes. Choreography explores the crafted object’s purely operative function by enabling the wearer to perform a series of gestures that define space for social interaction. In other words, the objects are no longer confined to their autonomous, still form, but rather become moveable anchors for the performance to unfold on the floor of the gallery.

America's Monsters, Superheroes, and Villains: An Exhibit by SuperMonster市City!
September 04, 2020 - January 04, 2021

In different guises, monsters, superheroes, and villains have always been part of America’s cultural fabric. They scare us, thrill us, and most importantly, help guide us through the most terrifying and exhilarating moments of our lives. America’s Monsters, Superheroes, and Villains uses popular portrayals of these characters as a lens to explore America’s changing values during the politically turbulent period of the 1960s to the 1990s. Read more here.

Anna Mlasowsky: Never Odd or Even
September 04, 2020 - January 17, 2021

Never Odd or Even is an exhibition of new work from Seattle-based glass artist Anna Mlasowsky. In 2018, Mlasowsky received the John and Joyce Price Award of Excellence for her work in BAM Biennial 2018: BAM! Glasstastic. Beyond the honor of being selected from among 49 artists of immense caliber, the award included a cash prize and the opportunity to present an exhibition at Bellevue Arts Museum within the following two years. Read more here.

Yellow No. 5
October 02, 2020 - February 28, 2021

Yellow No. 5 examines the transactional relationship between culture and consumerism and how they often work in tandem to conceal their connection. Tariqa Waters’ project-based, multi-disciplinary exhibition sees her collaborate with regional artists to explore the grab-and-go nature of material goods and how these products serve as armor to shield us from our intrinsically codependent relationship with consumerism—using artificial additives. Read more here.

Upcoming Dates

  • Fri, Oct 30, 2020 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 31, 2020 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 1, 2020 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 6, 2020 All Day
  • Sat, Nov 7, 2020 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 8, 2020 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 13, 2020 All Day
  • Sat, Nov 14, 2020 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 15, 2020 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 20, 2020 All Day
  • Sat, Nov 21, 2020 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 22, 2020 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 27, 2020 All Day
  • Sat, Nov 28, 2020 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 29, 2020 All Day
  • Fri, Dec 4, 2020 All Day
  • Sat, Dec 5, 2020 All Day
  • Sun, Dec 6, 2020 All Day
  • Fri, Dec 11, 2020 All Day
  • Sat, Dec 12, 2020 All Day
  • Sun, Dec 13, 2020 All Day
  • Fri, Dec 18, 2020 All Day
  • Sat, Dec 19, 2020 All Day
  • Sun, Dec 20, 2020 All Day
  • Fri, Dec 25, 2020 All Day
  • Sat, Dec 26, 2020 All Day
  • Sun, Dec 27, 2020 All Day
  • Fri, Jan 1, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jan 2, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jan 3, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jan 8, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jan 9, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jan 10, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jan 15, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jan 16, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jan 17, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jan 22, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jan 23, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jan 24, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jan 29, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jan 30, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jan 31, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Feb 5, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Feb 6, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Feb 7, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Feb 12, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Feb 13, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Feb 14, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Feb 19, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Feb 20, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Feb 21, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Feb 26, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Feb 27, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Feb 28, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Mar 5, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Mar 6, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Mar 7, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Mar 12, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Mar 13, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Mar 14, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Mar 19, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Mar 20, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Mar 21, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Mar 26, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Mar 27, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Mar 28, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 2, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Apr 3, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Apr 4, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 9, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Apr 10, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Apr 11, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 16, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Apr 17, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Apr 18, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 23, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Apr 24, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Apr 25, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 30, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, May 1, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, May 2, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, May 7, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, May 8, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, May 9, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, May 14, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, May 15, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, May 16, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, May 21, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, May 22, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, May 23, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, May 28, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, May 29, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, May 30, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 4, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 5, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 6, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 11, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 12, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 13, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 18, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 19, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 20, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 25, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 26, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 27, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 2, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 3, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 4, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 9, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 10, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 11, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 16, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 17, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 18, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 23, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 24, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 25, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 30, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 31, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 1, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 6, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 7, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 8, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 13, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 14, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 15, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 20, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 21, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 22, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 27, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 28, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 29, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Sep 3, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Sep 4, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Sep 5, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Sep 10, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Sep 11, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Sep 12, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Sep 17, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Sep 18, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Sep 19, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Sep 24, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Sep 25, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Sep 26, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 1, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 2, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 3, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 8, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 9, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 10, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 15, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 16, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 17, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 22, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 23, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 24, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 29, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 30, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 31, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 5, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Nov 6, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 7, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 12, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Nov 13, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 14, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 19, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Nov 20, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 21, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Nov 26, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Nov 27, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Nov 28, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Dec 3, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Dec 4, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Dec 5, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Dec 10, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Dec 11, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Dec 12, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Dec 17, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Dec 18, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Dec 19, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Dec 24, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Dec 25, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Dec 26, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Dec 31, 2021 All Day

Login

Create an account | Reset your password