Venue

Seattle Art Museum
1300 1st Avenue, Downtown Seattle, Seattle

  • Gm 26774301 Original 630px

Imogen Cunningham: A Retrospective showcases the endless innovation and profound influence of this remarkable photographer who pushed the boundaries for both women in the arts and photography as an art form. Nearly 200 of Cunningham’s insightful portraits, elegant flower and plant studies, poignant street pictures, and groundbreaking nudes present a singular vision developed over seven decades of work. The first major retrospective in the United States of Cunningham’s work in 35 years, the exhibition examines on the artist’s Seattle upbringing and includes works by female artists such as Ruth Asawa and Martha Graham who Cunningham championed, as well as works by Group f/64 which she helped found with Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, and others. Cunningham’s spark of creative possibility asserted photography as a distinct and valuable art form in the 20th century.

This exhibition is organized by the J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles.

Upcoming Dates

  • Fri, Jan 21, 2022 10:00am
  • Sat, Jan 22, 2022 10:00am
  • Sun, Jan 23, 2022 10:00am
  • Wed, Jan 26, 2022 10:00am
  • Thu, Jan 27, 2022 10:00am
  • Fri, Jan 28, 2022 10:00am
  • Sat, Jan 29, 2022 10:00am
  • Sun, Jan 30, 2022 10:00am
  • Wed, Feb 2, 2022 10:00am
  • Thu, Feb 3, 2022 10:00am
  • Fri, Feb 4, 2022 10:00am
  • Sat, Feb 5, 2022 10:00am
  • Sun, Feb 6, 2022 10:00am
Login
Sign Up

Login

Create an account | Reset your password