Partners

On the Boards

Venue

  • 600highwaymen mariabaranova

FROM ONE OF THE WORLD’S MOST ACCLAIMED THEATER COMPANIES, A PERFORMANCE IN THREE PARTS ABOUT COMMUNION, DISTANCE, AND RECONNECTION.

A THOUSAND WAYS

by 600 HIGHWAYMEN
written & created by Abigail Browde & Michael Silverstone
US PREMIERE

Analog tools for coexistence

A THOUSAND WAYS is a three-part performance in which your words, actions, gestures, silence, thoughts, and willingness are the tools. With two people, a telephone, a table, and a stack of cards, a new type of performance emerges. Everything we need is already here, just you and me.

Obie Award-winning theater-makers, 600 HIGHWAYMEN, known for exhilarating performances that challenge the very definition of theater, have created a quietly radical response to this new world with A THOUSAND WAYS. Taking place over the next year, this three-part performance is designed in response to social distancing rules that deliver us from isolation to congregation. Each distinct installment meets participants where they are.

This is an invitation. Will you attend?

PART ONE: A PHONE CALL
Dates: February 4 -14, 2021

PURCHASE TICKETS HERE

On a simple phone call, you and another audience member – nameless strangers to one another – follow a carefully crafted set of directives. Over the course of the journey, a portrait of each other emerges through fleeting moments of exposure and the simple sound of an unseen voice.

PART TWO: AN ENCOUNTER
Tentative Dates: March 4-14, 2021

TICKETS ON SALE AT A LATER DATE

The journey from isolation to congregation will take time, patience, and flexibility. On the Boards plans to produce a remount of this in-person performance for two but given the ever-changing nature of pandemic protocol we are not yet prepared to sell tickets at this time.

PART THREE: AN ASSEMBLY

DATES TO BE ANNOUNCED IN 2021

When we are ready, when it is safe, we will be together again. All of us who have met across phone lines and through glass panes will come together for the final act of this experience, co-created by all of us. It will feel new, and a bit scary, but that’s ok.

COVID-19 UPDATE
All offerings are designed around social distancing rules to meet participants where they are and when they are, and adhere to up-to-date safety protocol in regard to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Upcoming Dates

  • Fri, Jun 18, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 19, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 20, 2021 All Day
  • Mon, Jun 21, 2021 All Day
  • Tue, Jun 22, 2021 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 23, 2021 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 24, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 25, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 26, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 27, 2021 All Day
  • Mon, Jun 28, 2021 All Day
  • Tue, Jun 29, 2021 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 30, 2021 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 1, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 2, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 3, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 4, 2021 All Day
  • Mon, Jul 5, 2021 All Day
  • Tue, Jul 6, 2021 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 7, 2021 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 8, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 9, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 10, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 11, 2021 All Day
  • Mon, Jul 12, 2021 All Day
  • Tue, Jul 13, 2021 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 14, 2021 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 15, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 16, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 17, 2021 All Day
Login
Sign Up

Login

Create an account | Reset your password