Venue

Meany Hall (Katharyn Alvord Gerlich Theater)
4040 George Washington Lane Northeast, Northeast Seattle, Seattle

  • Lamc tryptich hero

One of the leading professional choirs in the world, the Los Angeles Master Chorale, has shown true artistry, commitment and resilience throughout the pandemic — sharing their voices through online performances. Shine Bright: A Triptych is a suite of music videos highlighting three distinct composers: Reena Esmail, Meredith Monk and Derrick Spiva, Jr.

TaReKiTa was written by Reena Esmail as a gift for Urban Voices Project, a choir composed of people who have or are experiencing homelessness in Los Angeles. It is based on the bols (sounds) of the tabla, a traditional Indian drum. The result, says Esmail, is “ecstatic, energetic, rhythmic music that feels good on the tongue.”

Meredith Monk’s Earth Seen From Above is about a young girl’s journey to the four corners of our world and beyond, and is from the third and final part of her opera Atlas. Filmed at LA’s Walt Disney Concert Hall, the 10 singers honor the “forward undulation” body movement notated by Meredith Monk in the Atlas score.

Ready, Bright is the fourth piece in Anthems of A Crowd, a collection of choral works that integrates the aesthetics of different vocal traditions found around the world into single pieces. In Ready, Bright the listener hears elements of call and response (found in many cultures, including West Africa) between soloist and choir, as well as between sections of the choir. The piece also includes elements of traditional Ewe music from the Volta region of Ghana. Spiva blends his early musical experiences in the Black church with elements of West African traditions and his own LA infused vibe, including the strong influence of hip hop, layered with jazz, gospel and pop vocal traditions.

Upcoming Dates

  • Mon, Oct 18, 2021 All Day
  • Tue, Oct 19, 2021 All Day
  • Wed, Oct 20, 2021 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 21, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 22, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 23, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 24, 2021 All Day
  • Mon, Oct 25, 2021 All Day
  • Tue, Oct 26, 2021 All Day
  • Wed, Oct 27, 2021 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 28, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 29, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 30, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 31, 2021 All Day
Login
Sign Up

Login

Create an account | Reset your password