Venue

  • Screen Shot 2021 04 06 at 7 13 27 PM

Already one of the most esteemed African films ever to hit the international festival circuit, This Is Not a Burial, It’s a Resurrection earned the Special Jury Prize for Visionary Filmmaking at the 2020 Sundance Film Festival, before taking home Best Actress, Best Director, and Best Cinematography at Africa’s Academy Awards.

Deserving comparison with the work of Pedro Costa, Andrei Tarkovsky, and Souleymane Cissé, This Is Not a Burial marks the introduction of a major filmmaker and the final powerhouse performance of a remarkable actress.

The late Mary Twala Mhlongo (whom you may recognize from Beyoncé’s blockbuster musical Black Is King), gives a heartbreaking, career-capping performance as Mantoa, an 80-year-old woman who has lived in a small Lesotho village for her entire life. While preparing for her own death, she receives word of an accident that has killed her only son, leaving her entirely alone, with only the respect of her community, the traditions of her ancestors, and the courage of her convictions. When her community must relocate to make way for a nearby dam which would flood her family’s burial ground, Mantoa draws a line in the sand and becomes an unlikely political and spiritual leader.

Cryptic, impressionistic, and informed by magical realist literature, This Is Not a Burial, It’s a Resurrection contains some of the most striking visual compositions in contemporary cinema, all the more impressive considering this is the first feature-length film for both cinematographer Pierre de Villiers and production designer Leila Walter. The cumulative power of Mantoa’s sacrificial crusade, Mhlongo’s earthy performance, and Mosese’s visionary artistry announce an unmistakable landmark in African cinema.

Upcoming Dates

  • Sun, Apr 11, 2021 All Day
  • Mon, Apr 12, 2021 All Day
  • Tue, Apr 13, 2021 All Day
  • Wed, Apr 14, 2021 All Day
  • Thu, Apr 15, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 16, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Apr 17, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Apr 18, 2021 All Day
  • Mon, Apr 19, 2021 All Day
  • Tue, Apr 20, 2021 All Day
  • Wed, Apr 21, 2021 All Day
  • Thu, Apr 22, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 23, 2021 All Day
  • Sat, Apr 24, 2021 All Day
  • Sun, Apr 25, 2021 All Day
  • Mon, Apr 26, 2021 All Day
  • Tue, Apr 27, 2021 All Day
  • Wed, Apr 28, 2021 All Day
  • Thu, Apr 29, 2021 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 30, 2021 All Day
Login
Sign Up

Login

Create an account | Reset your password