Partners

Museum of Glass

Venue

Museum of Glass
1801 Dock Street, New Tacoma, Tacoma

  • Photo1593

Raven and the Box of Daylight is the Tlingit story of Raven and his transformation of the world—bringing light to people via the stars, moon, and sun. This myth holds great significance in the mythology of the Tlingit people as a revered creation tale. The exhibition features a dynamic combination of artwork, story-telling, and encounter, where the Tlingit creation myth unfolds during the visitor’s experience.

The glass art of Preston Singletary (American, born 1963) is rooted in the narrative of Raven and the Box of Daylight. Primarily known for his celebration of Native American art and design, Singletary will explore new ways of working with glass inspired by Tlingit design principles. Tlingit objects were traditionally created for stagecraft, and were used to tell stories by representing elements of the natural world, as well as the histories of tribal families. By drawing upon this tradition, Singletary’s art creates a unique theatrical atmosphere, in which the pieces follow and enhance the exhibition narrative.

Artwork in the exhibition will be supported by the research of Walter Porter, a Tlingit mythologist. Porter’s research provides a unique perspective about Tlingit cultural stories. He was well-known for his comparative work regarding other world mythologies to the Raven story, and his research will be used to draw connections to universal themes and perspectives.

Visitors will be immersed in Tlingit culture through a dynamic, multi-sensory environment. Art objects and exhibition text will be supported by audio and video elements. This will include recordings by storytellers; music; recordings of Pacific Northwest coastal sounds; and a backdrop of shadows and projected images. The exhibition is active, surprising, and dramatic, and engages the viewer through sight and sound.

Oral histories and narratives are an essential part of the survival of Tlingit culture. Recordings of Tlingit storytellers will be central to the auditory experience, and will introduce visitors to the art form of Tlingit oral tradition. These oral performances tell the story of the Raven myth, and include original music and sound effects to further enhance the visitor experience. Audio components will be available in a variety of formats, depending on the needs of each individual venue.

Raven and the Box of Daylight takes visitors on an experiential journey with Raven, and the transformation of darkness into light. Artworks by Preston Singletary, inspired by the creation myth and Tlingit art, are enhanced by exhibition text and audio-visual experiences. Since these components will work together to realize a very specific narrative and visitor experience, Preston Singletary and staff at Museum of Glass are available to work with each venue to address site-specific elements of the exhibition.

Upcoming Dates

  • Sat, May 25, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, May 26, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, May 27, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, May 28, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, May 29, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, May 30, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, May 31, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 1, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 2, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Jun 3, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Jun 4, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 5, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 6, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 7, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 8, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 9, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Jun 10, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Jun 11, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 12, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 13, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 14, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 15, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 16, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Jun 17, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Jun 18, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 19, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 20, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 21, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 22, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 23, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Jun 24, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Jun 25, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 26, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 27, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 28, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 29, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 30, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Jul 1, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Jul 2, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 3, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 4, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 5, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 6, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 7, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Jul 8, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Jul 9, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 10, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 11, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 12, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 13, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 14, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Jul 15, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Jul 16, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 17, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 18, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 19, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 20, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 21, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Jul 22, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Jul 23, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 24, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 25, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 26, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 27, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 28, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Jul 29, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Jul 30, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 31, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Aug 1, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 2, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 3, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 4, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Aug 5, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Aug 6, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Aug 7, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Aug 8, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 9, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 10, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 11, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Aug 12, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Aug 13, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Aug 14, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Aug 15, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 16, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 17, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 18, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Aug 19, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Aug 20, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Aug 21, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Aug 22, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 23, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 24, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 25, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Aug 26, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Aug 27, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Aug 28, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Aug 29, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 30, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 31, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Sep 1, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Sep 2, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Sep 3, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Sep 4, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Sep 5, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Sep 6, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Sep 7, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Sep 8, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Sep 9, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Sep 10, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Sep 11, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Sep 12, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Sep 13, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Sep 14, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Sep 15, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Sep 16, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Sep 17, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Sep 18, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Sep 19, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Sep 20, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Sep 21, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Sep 22, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Sep 23, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Sep 24, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Sep 25, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Sep 26, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Sep 27, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Sep 28, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Sep 29, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Sep 30, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Oct 1, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Oct 2, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 3, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 4, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 5, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 6, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Oct 7, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Oct 8, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Oct 9, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 10, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 11, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 12, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 13, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Oct 14, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Oct 15, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Oct 16, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 17, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 18, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 19, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 20, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Oct 21, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Oct 22, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Oct 23, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 24, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Oct 25, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Oct 26, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Oct 27, 2019 All Day
  • Mon, Oct 28, 2019 All Day
  • Tue, Oct 29, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Oct 30, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Oct 31, 2019 All Day

Login

Create an account | Reset your password