Venue

Bellevue Arts Museum
510 Bellevue Way Northeast, West Bellevue, Bellevue

  • School Square

School, an exhibition spearheaded and conceptualized by artist Joseph Rossano, casts light on the diminished state of global salmon and steelhead populations. The installation features a life-size school of mirrored salmon, sculpted from molten glass by concerned glassmakers from around the world. Participating makers send their contributions to a central location where the glass fish are silvered by Joseph Rossano and then sent to join the exhibition at Bellevue Arts Museum.

Rossano's project is inspired by the Skagit River, the fourth largest outflow to the Pacific Ocean in the continental United States, and its dwindling run of salmon and steelhead. Once numbering in the millions, the Skagit’s salmon stocks now number barely in the tens of thousands. Whereas the river's steelhead population, which historically numbered in the tens of thousands, now numbers only in the hundreds. Because the steelhead return to the Skagit in the late winter when cupboards were bare, they once served as an important food supply to indigenous peoples. The stories of the region’s people and their use of its land over thousands of years offers captivating and actionable insights that Rossano hopes will bring disparate groups together for the benefit of these fish and those dependent on them.

To kick off the project, the Museum of Glass will host a makers event on October 12, 13, and 14. During that long weekend, the MOG team will work with Rossano and a range of other glass artists to create fish for the exhibition. Trout Unlimited, an organization dedicated to the preservation and restoration of wild fish populations will co-host the event, making it a celebration of the fish with refreshments, films and talks from scientists, indigenous peoples, and sportsman.

Upcoming Dates

  • Thu, Apr 25, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 26, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Apr 27, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Apr 28, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, May 1, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, May 2, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, May 3, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, May 4, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, May 5, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, May 8, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, May 9, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, May 10, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, May 11, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, May 12, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, May 15, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, May 16, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, May 17, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, May 18, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, May 19, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, May 22, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, May 23, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, May 24, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, May 25, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, May 26, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, May 29, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, May 30, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, May 31, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 1, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 2, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 5, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 6, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 7, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 8, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 9, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 12, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 13, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 14, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 15, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 16, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 19, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 20, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 21, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 22, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 23, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 26, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 27, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 28, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 29, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 30, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 3, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 4, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 5, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 6, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 7, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 10, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 11, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 12, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 13, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 14, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 17, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 18, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 19, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 20, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 21, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 24, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Jul 25, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Jul 26, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Jul 27, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Jul 28, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Jul 31, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Aug 1, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 2, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 3, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 4, 2019 All Day
  • Wed, Aug 7, 2019 All Day
  • Thu, Aug 8, 2019 All Day
  • Fri, Aug 9, 2019 All Day
  • Sat, Aug 10, 2019 All Day
  • Sun, Aug 11, 2019 All Day

Login

Create an account | Reset your password