Venue

Henry Art Gallery
Northeast Seattle, Seattle

  • 2019 516 Over

This exhibition of 90 works covers 20 years (2002-22) of Thomas’s work and is drawn from the collection of the Jordan D. Schnitzer Family Foundation. The exhibition features some of the artist’s most iconic and well-known artworks across a range of media, investigating diverse themes.

LOVERULES also highlights several important series, including Branded and Unbranded: Reflections in Black by Corporate America. In Branded, Thomas explores and recontextualizes the history of brand advertising and sponsorship through the iconography of sport. In Unbranded, Thomas digitally removes advertising punchlines and logos, with both series thereby highlighting the consistently dehumanizing strategies of corporate media, the commodification of African-American identity, and the ways in which dominant cultural tropes shape notions of race and race relations.Critical awareness, civic engagement, collaboration, and empathy are among the core invitations of Thomas’ work. T

Through the mining and reframing of iconic imagery and texts, Thomas connects historical moments of resistance to our lives today. With incisive clarity, he asks us to see and challenge systems of inequality while affirming our shared humanity to shape a better future.

Upcoming Dates

  • Sat, Feb 24, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Feb 25, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, Feb 29, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, Mar 1, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Mar 2, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Mar 3, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, Mar 7, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, Mar 8, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Mar 9, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Mar 10, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, Mar 14, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, Mar 15, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Mar 16, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Mar 17, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, Mar 21, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, Mar 22, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Mar 23, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Mar 24, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, Mar 28, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, Mar 29, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Mar 30, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Mar 31, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, Apr 4, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 5, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Apr 6, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Apr 7, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, Apr 11, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, Apr 12, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Apr 13, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Apr 14, 2024 All Day
Login
Sign Up

Login

Create an account | Reset your password