• 656e49e37195d

La Vaughn Belle: A History of Unruly Returns features the paintings, ceramics, and collages of contemporary artist La Vaughn Belle. Based on the island of Saint Croix, Belle investigates the legacy of colonialism.

The exhibition will feature large-scale paintings from her series “Chaney (We Live in the Fragments)” (2015-present). “Chaney” refers to ceramic shards found in abundance in the soil of Saint Croix. Belle explains, “There are small fragments of pottery, often blue and white, that surface the soil in the Virgin Islands after a hard rain and glimmer.

Coming first as plates, tea pots and cups from Holland, England, Denmark and North America as part of the vast transatlantic trade of the last centuries of the second millennia, they became its detritus, broken down into the soil, just like the traded bodies.

Upcoming Dates

  • Tue, May 21, 2024 All Day
  • Wed, May 22, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, May 23, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, May 24, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, May 25, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, May 26, 2024 All Day
  • Tue, May 28, 2024 All Day
  • Wed, May 29, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, May 30, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, May 31, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 1, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 2, 2024 All Day
  • Tue, Jun 4, 2024 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 5, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 6, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 7, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 8, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 9, 2024 All Day
  • Tue, Jun 11, 2024 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 12, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 13, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 14, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 15, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 16, 2024 All Day
  • Tue, Jun 18, 2024 All Day
  • Wed, Jun 19, 2024 All Day
  • Thu, Jun 20, 2024 All Day
  • Fri, Jun 21, 2024 All Day
  • Sat, Jun 22, 2024 All Day
  • Sun, Jun 23, 2024 All Day
  • +24 future events

Hours

Open Tuesday- Sunday 10am - 5pm

Holiday Closures: Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year's Day

TeenTix Logo
Login
Sign Up

Login

Create an account | Reset your password